observations of a security guard

My job has some similarities to police work.  Of course it is not exactly the same whatsoever.  I do not carry a firearm and I do not have the legal authority of police.  I am also not paid anywhere near as well.  Anyway feel free to hate me if you think I’m a pig; that’s not really the point.

The rules I enforce are often somewhat more reasonable than the rules that the police do.  Mainly I just try to keep people quiet so that other people can sleep.  However it is true that I still in essence play the same role of repression.

Of course some people would be afraid that this alters my perspective on politics.  Yawn.  The test of revolutionary sincerity is actions not words so people can think what they like and I will just keep doing what I am doing.

But it is a good point, I do have a unique perspective on some things because of my role.  For one thing personally I face constant demoralization.  Now this may have to do with some unique things about myself.  Unlike most police I do not believe in my job at all.  Many police believe in their jobs very enthusiastically and even have a somewhat conscious ideology about why their job is the right thing to do.

Of course I have the complete opposite ideology.

But I have to imagine that when a tremendous movement arises whether a large protest movement on a local scale or something larger and national like Occupy Wall Street it has to affect the police.  Though of course I don’t share their perspective or their position whatsoever, I suspect that it also has to affect the rich, the ruling class, the politicians etc..

However I realize something very interesting.  I have to go from campsite to campsite enforcing the rules of silence again and again.  This really exhausts me and demoralizes me over time.  I experience the full weight of the large amount of people that I must enforce the rules on — but it does not happen all at once.  It really happens one by one.  And the crazy thing is, the people I’m enforcing on have no idea that this is the way it is.
They have no idea that I’m being continually ground down by the weight of all the other people I’m enforcing on.

To me this is a great example of how the working class is completely powerless when it is not organized into a collective force.  If all these people stood together I would have no chance of enforcing anything on them at all.  But of course they’re not thinking in those terms whatsoever.  It doesn’t even occur to them!

So instead of having an experience where people are feeling their combined strength against an actually tiny apparatus, they feel themselves as individuals being crushed by an apparatus that is larger then their individual selves.
It’s really funny because that apparatus is actually tiny, but it is admittedly larger than a single individual or even a small group of individuals.
Of course it is also very well-funded apparatus, but it could easily be defeated by the strength of numbers.

It’s amazing how the people I’m enforcing on lack this perspective entirely.  They really have no idea what a threat they are to my ability to do my job.  Only I know it.  And I am not apologizing for it or justifying it whatsoever, but this may explain some of the police overzealousness while going about their jobs.

Most of us have no idea how threatened we must make them feel.  Maybe we should become conscious of that and utilize it.

There is of course a flipside to what I’m talking about.  Actually many people very impulsively and even aggressively resist my requests when I ask them to quiet down.  I have been physically threatened several times.  (Don’t worry about it, though, I am safe; these people have no idea how vicious I am and how easily I could pretty much wreck large amounts of people at once.)

I don’t know if I’m being a horrible person by saying this but I have a theory that the lower-income you are the worse impulse control you have.  It’s not because being low-income is some sign that you are inferior and that you deserve to be low-income.  It’s actually just that when you’re low-income, your life sucks and you get more sick of dealing with everything so you flip out more easily.  You are also less exposed to the very constrained and well-behaved environments of the higher education system.  In addition there’s the fact that when you take this factor and multiply it by the force of family tradition, and the phenomenon of family behavior rubbing off and mutually enforcing among all a family’s members, impulsive behavior can become even more pronounced amongst low-income people.  And yes at the campground I work at I deal with a lot of very very low income people so yes I’m talking about my customer base.

Of course it’s not just a low-income problem but I think it’s a almost a universal human problem that people react to situations instead of thinking ahead about them.

So it’s interesting that on an individual basis sometimes the response to me asking people to quiet down is rather fierce.  But I notice that the same exact people who react the most impulsively and aggressively to my enforcement (regardless of class) are the very people who cower in total compliance and obedience at a later stage of the process.  All I really have to do is involve the bureaucracy for people to become afraid, because they know my physical presence, as usually a lone individual, is actually representative of a larger bureaucratic machine behind me which owns the property that they are standing on.  And of course that ownership is protected by the much-larger legal enforcement apparatus of the police, as well as the court system and really the entire government.

So it makes sense that the people who are most impulsively, reactively combative to my enforcement attempts are the most compulsively, reactively compliant when finally concretely faced with the weight of the overall apparatus

It’s funny how the impulsive people are actually less afraid of a large scary man like me, and more afraid of the friendly-looking women at the front desk who control the status of each member through their various computerized accounting processes.

And then of course we have our more higher income and middle-class customers who have a complete opposite reaction.  They typically do not react to me as impulsively, but when they do it is of an entirely different character.  The lower income response is more of a hostility based on the fact that they’re just trying to have fun and I’m doing something wrong by stopping them.  The higher income people react to me when they are impulsive as though they are above the rules and that it’s ridiculous that I would even think to approach them.  I guess the word would be they feel “entitled.”  Of course the higher income and middle-class customers often do not react impulsively at all.  What many do is they circumvent me and speak privately with the front desk, also known as the apparatus, where they have plenty of reasons to be confident that their economic influence can get them whatever they want — including perhaps even a small suggestion to me from management that maybe I should take it easy on that group.  Fortunately for my sanity management backs me up and tells them to pipe the hell down and that’s I’m doing my job properly.  This is probably because the campground is so successful that anyone we offend to the point of leaving will be immediately replaced by another eager customer waiting in the wings.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my shitty life.

Leave a Reply

