Perhaps my bein…

Perhaps my being in love with Genevie had something to do with his affection for me. Not that it had ever been acknowledged between us. But after all was settled, and she had told me with tears in her eyes that it was Boris whom she loved, I went over to his house and congratulated him. The perfect cordiality of that interview did not deceive either of us, I always believed, although to one at least it was a great comfort. I do not think he and Genevie ever spoke of the matter together, but Boris knew.

From “The King in Yellow” collection, The Mask

Leave a Reply

